Search This Blog

Indus Water Treaty India

According to the Indus Water Treaty, India has been given control over : 

The Indus Waters Treaty is a water-distribution treaty between India and Pakistan, brokered by the World Bank (then the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development).

The treaty was signed in Karachi on September 19, 1960 by Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and President of Pakistan Ayub Khan. According to this agreement, control over the three "eastern" rivers the Beas, Ravi and Sutlej was given to India and the three"western" rivers—the Indus, Chenab and Jhelum to Pakistan.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Doklam Plateau Issue

The region falls within Bhutanese Territory. India and Bhutan 2007 Friendship Treaty, Which provide regulations for border dispute Th...