Search This Blog

The Tughluq Dynasty (1320 – 1414 A.D.)

The Tughluq Dynasty (1320 – 1414 A.D.)

The Tughluq Dynasty was founded by Giyas-ud-din Tughluq in 1320, is original name was Ghazi Malik. After his death in an accident in 1324 A.D., he was succeeded by his son Muhammad-bin-Tughluq. Muhammad-bin-Tughluq was a brilliant scholar and a great patron of learning. Ibn Batuta, a traveler came to India during his rule. He has provided a detailed account of his reign. Muhammad-bin-Tughluq was succeeded by Firoz Shah Tughluq, he was an able ruler therefore made an attempt to consolidate Delhi sultanate. He followed the policy of appeasement to please the nobles, army and the ulemas. He imposed jaziya. He died in 1388. Amir Timur, the Mangol leader of central Asia, attached India in 1398. He ordered general massacre in Delhi and robbed people mercilessly. The invasion of Timur gave abig jolt to Tughluq dynasty. Due to weak successors of Tughluq dynasty, it came to an end in 1414.

Rulers of the Tughluq dynasty:

  1. Giyas-ud-din Tughluq (1320 – 1324 A.D.)
  2. Muhammad-bin-Tughluq (1324 – 1351 A.D.)
  3. Firoz Shah Tughluq (1351 – 1388 A.D.)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Doklam Plateau Issue

The region falls within Bhutanese Territory. India and Bhutan 2007 Friendship Treaty, Which provide regulations for border dispute Th...