Search This Blog


Till the beginning of the 12th century, there was no mention of the kingdom with Delhi as the capital city. Moreover, Al-Biruni who came India during the reign of Mahmud of Ghazni, wrote about the city of Delhi. In his work Kita-ul-Hind, he mentioned some other cities like Kanauj, Mathura etc. His work, written in Arabic provides an important resource to the historians. Helhi became an important city only when it became the capital of Rajput rulers. In the middle of the 12th century, it developed as an important commercial centre. With the establishment of Delhi Sultanate in 13th century, it was transformed into a capital city covering a vast area of the subcontinent. The sultans of Delhi built monuments in this area. Delhi Sultanate comprised of five dynasties. These dynasties ruled from 1206 to 1526 A.D.
These are:
  1. Slave dynasty (1206 – 1290 A.D.)
  2. Khilji dynasty (1290 – 1320 A.D.)
  3. Tughluq dynasty (1320 – 1414 A.D.)
  4. Sayyid dynasty (1414 – 1451 A.D.)
  5. Lodi dynasty (1451 – 1526 A.D.)
The word ‘Sultanate’ means strength and authority. Later, t came to be used as the title by certain Muslim rulers, who claimed full sovereign power.

TAGS:THE DELHI SULTANATE (1206 – 1290), ancient indian history, medieval indian history, history, indian history books, india medieval history, latest india history updates, 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Doklam Plateau Issue

The region falls within Bhutanese Territory. India and Bhutan 2007 Friendship Treaty, Which provide regulations for border dispute Th...